Home » Education Savings » 529 Advisory Committee

529 Advisory Committee

Anderson Chandler, Topeka, is the Chairman & President of Fidelity State Bank & Trust Company and has owned the bank since 1958. Anderson has served as president of many community organizations including the Kansas Bankers Association, Greater Topeka Chamber of Commerce, United Way of Greater Topeka, Downtown Topeka, Inc. and YMCA of Topeka. He was president of the Jayhawk Council Boy Scouts of Topeka, North Central Region Boy Scouts of America and is currently a member of the National Board of Directors of Boy Scouts of America. He is the first Kansan to receive the top three scout volunteer awards. Anderson is a graduate of The University of Kansas and currently serves on the KU Business School Advisors Executive Committee. In 2008 he received the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Commerce from Washburn University.

John Christensen, JD, CFP is a Senior Financial Advisor for Blue Creek Investment Partners in Overland Park where he combines his past experience of managing high net worth clients with comprehensive wealth management strategies. John is a Certified Financial Planner and an attorney licensed to practice in Kansas and Missouri. John earned his bachelor of arts degree from Hastings College and his Juris Doctorate from the University of Tulsa.

Ron Chronister, is a lifelong Kansan.  He graduated from Buhler High School and received his undergraduate degree from Fort Hays State University.  Ron is currently a Lieutenant Colonel in the Kansas Army National Guard with over 25 years of service.  Over his 25 years of service he has held several positions and is a UH-60 Blackhawk Helicopter pilot.  Ron has been in the Securities and Insurance business for over 15 years and is a founding partner in Cornerstone Financial LLC in Wichita, KS.  He and wife Christina have three children and live in Derby Kansas.

Steven Johnson, Assaria, is a member of the Kansas House, representing the 108th District. Steven is a fifth generation farmer and has been employed with Ameriprise Financial since 1988 currently serving as Senior Region Vice President for the Central U.S.  His primary responsibilities are investment and financial planning.  Steven earned a Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics from Kansas State University and an M.B.A. in Finance and Business Policy from the University of Chicago.  Steven is a trustee for the KSU Foundation.  He has served on the KSU Foundation investment committee and the Kansas 4-H Foundation investment committee.

Martha L. Linsner, C.T.F.A is President of The Trust Company of Kansas (TCK). She has been with TCK since May, 1994. Martha’s main focus at TCK is new business development. In this role, she works closely with TCK’s administrators and management and coordinates the company's marketing strategies.  Martha earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Total Quality Management from Friends University in Wichita. In July of 2001, Martha successfully completed the American Bankers Association (ABA) National Graduate Trust School. In 2002, Martha earned the designation of Certified Trust and Financial Advisor (CTFA). Martha is involved with the Wichita Metro Chamber of Commerce, Junior Achievement of Wichita, Rotary Club of Wichita (Downtown), and The Arts Council.

Suchitra Padmanabhan, Topeka, is a member on the Kansas Development Finance Authority and General Partner at BC Capital. Previously she worked for Security Benefit, Bankers Trust and Lehman Brothers. She holds an MBA in Analytic Finance from the University of Chicago and is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA).

For questions or comments for the 529 Advisory Committee please contact our office by e-mail at scott@treasurer.ks.gov or by phone at 785-296-5317.